Carmecha PDF Nics


In all references to vedanā in the Satipaṭṭhāna Sutta the Buddha speaks of sukhā vedanā, dukkhā vedanā, i.e., the body sensations; or adukkhamasukhā. The following sutta contains the longest treatment of satipaṭṭhāna found in the Canon. However, despite its length, its treatment of the topic is far from complete . Maha Satipatthana Sutta A sutta should be read again and again as you will tend to forget its The original Pàëi text of this Sutta can be found in Mahà-.

Author: Shar Gulrajas
Country: Tunisia
Language: English (Spanish)
Genre: Personal Growth
Published (Last): 16 November 2015
Pages: 138
PDF File Size: 3.39 Mb
ePub File Size: 13.64 Mb
ISBN: 210-3-36564-718-8
Downloads: 96282
Price: Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]
Uploader: Mikalmaran

The difference lies simply in the subtlety of one’s focus. Just this very noble eightfold path: Mindfulness is what remembers to keep attention focused on the road to the mountain, rather mahaa letting it stay focused on glimpses of the mountain or get distracted by other paths leading away from the road. According to Bhikkhu Sujato, it seems to emphasize samatha or calm abiding, while the Theravadin version emphasizes Vipassana or insight.

Satipatthana Sutta

That is where, when dwelling, it dwells. The effluents, vexation, or fever that would arise if he were not to dispel these things do not arise for him when he dispels them. With maaha of ill will or not? Then a certain monk went to the Blessed One and, on arrival, having bowed down to him, sat to one side.

I have heard that on one occasion the Blessed One was staying among the Kurus.

This is called right resolve. If she saw any dirt or blemish there, she would try to remove it.

Nhat Hanh and Laity’s translation of this sutta was retrieved 30 Dec from “Buddha Net” at http: KhandasSatipatthanaAnapanasatiand Anapanasati Sutta.


In the seven factors for awakening, it is the first factor, providing a foundation for the remaining six factors: The Foundations of Mindfulness MN Craving for tactile sensations…. The Blessed One said: There is the case where a disciple of the noble ones, having abandoned dishonest livelihood, keeps his life going with right livelihood.

At first glance, the four frames of reference for satipatthana practice sound like four different meditation exercises, but MN makes clear that they can all center on a single practice: In short, the five clinging-aggregates are stressful. These passages on mindfulness are treated as the first element in the 37 wings to awakening. One thus develops insight into the process of origination and passing away by taking an active and sensitive role in the process, just as you learn about eggs by trying to cook with them, gathering experience from your successes and failures in attempting increasingly difficult dishes.

There is stillness of awareness.

This partly has to do with the nature of the topic itself. Hindrances6 Sense-BasesFactors of Enlightenment. For instance, when focused on the body, one may notice what causes breath sensations to arise and pass away within it. Thus he regards it [this mode of perception] as empty of whatever is not there. In the Satipatthana Sutta, Majjhima Nikaya 10, the Buddha identifies four “foundations of mindfulness” [14] or “frames of reference,” [15] on which he contemplates [14] or focusses [15] after leaving behind the wordly life: Whatever deceasing, passing away, breaking up, disappearance, dying, death, completion of time, break up of the aggregates, casting off of the body, interruption in the life faculty of the various beings in this or that group of beings, that is called death.


In each of the similes, the Buddha describes his knowledge of the destination of an individual on a particular path of practice. This is called right view. Four Stages Arhat Buddha Bodhisattva. There is the case where he discerns the eye, he discerns forms, he discerns the fetter that arises dependent on both.

This is called right action. Such is feeling… Such is perception… Such are fabrications… Such is consciousness, such its origination, such its disappearance.

Buddhist Scriptures: Mahasatipatthana Sutta

These are called the five clinging-aggregates that, in short, are stressful. Resolve for renunciation, resolve for freedom from ill will, resolve for harmlessness: This is called the faculty of mindfulness. In the five strengths and five faculties, it is the third factor, following on persistence and leading to concentration. There are qualities that act as a foothold for mindfulness as a factor for awakening. And he discerns how there is the abandoning of a fetter once it has arisen.

With that clinging as a condition there is becoming.

There are themes for calm, themes for non-distraction [these are the four establishings of mindfulness]. Whatever desire is accompanied by restlessness, conjoined with restlessness: The term sati is related to the verb sarati, to remember or to keep in mind. While elements of wutta Satipathana sutta can be found in the Samyutta Nikaya and the Samyukta Nigama, mah belong to the oldest strata of the Buddhist suttas, the elaborate Maha Satipatthana Sutta exists only in the Theravada Digha Nikaya.